## Report of the Arena Directors Committee to the 28<sup>th</sup> IGRA Annual Convention

The Arena Directors Committee met in joint session with the Chute Coordinators Committee on Friday, November 9, 2012. The following people were present (\* indicates voting delegate).

James Jenkins\* CGRA
Jai Crystal\* AGRA
Mike Lundberg SGRA
David Hallwood\* MIGRA
Ron Trusley\* AGRA
Dwight Skeates\* CCGRA
Jim Mitchell\* SGRA

There are 4 certified Arena Directors for the 2013 season. They are Jeanne McLeod, Heather Murray, Dee Zuspann, and Scotty Shadix. James Jenkins and Chris De Espinosa are recognized entrants in the Arena Director's certification program.

Given there are only 4 Arena Directors, the committee strongly suggests that approved rodeos invite early so that they can request time off and plan accordingly.

The committee asks that each organization internally seek out potentially qualified candidates and initiate conversations between them and current certified personnel.

The committee is working on finalizing an Arena Director's checklist to be utilized at every rodeo to ensure compliance and continuity.

The committee recommends that Rodeo Directors and/or Arena Directors invite the veterinarian to the pre—rodeo meetings as a safeguard to ensure all required components are present.

This joint committee sent proposals and recommendations to sister committees but does not have an action item to bring to the convention for consideration.

On behalf of the chair, and the Chute Coordinator chair, I would like to thank the attendees for their time and input to the committee.

Respectfully submitted, Scotty Shadix (for Heather Murray)