## Report of the Hall of Fame Committee to the 28<sup>th</sup> IGRA Annual Convention

The committee meeting came to order at 3:40 pm and adjourned at 4:10 pm on Friday, November 9. Seven Member Associations were represented.

Roger Bergmann	GSGRA	chair
Paula Scougal	CGRA	Υ
Ed Hamilton	GSGRA	Υ
Tom Seaman	TGRA	Υ
Mark Larson	NSGRA	Υ
John King	AGRA	Υ
Patrick Terry	ILGRA	Υ
Frank Harrell	ASGRA	Υ

Major revisions to the Hall of Fame Standing Rule were adopted at last year's convention and the committee does not see any need for any other modifications at this time.

The majority of this committee's work begins in March of each year. All nomination forms that were submitted through March 1<sup>st</sup> were reviewed by the five appointed committee members and the selection of nominees was completed prior to April 20<sup>th</sup>. Those nominees who were selected by the committee for this year will be inducted into the Hall of Fame after lunch on Sunday afternoon.

As a reminder to all of the convention delegates, once an individual is nominated they will remain on the list of nominees until such time as they may be selected for induction into the Hall of Fame. There is no expiration date on a nomination form. If multiple nomination forms are received for the same individual, the committee will take that into consideration during the selection process. However, nomination does not guarantee selection into the Hall of Fame. There are many individuals deserving of this honor and it will take time to acknowledge all of them.

The IGRA Hall of Fame is located on the IGRA Web site at www.igra.com.

Once you are at the Home Page you need to click on **ABOUT IGRA**, and from the drop down menu select **IGRA Hall of Fame.** 

The following individuals are currently in the Hall of Fame:

2004 – Wayne Jakino and Greg Olson

2005 – John King, Linn Copeland, and Sande Miller

2006 - Al Bell, Phil Ragsdale, and Candy Bell

2007 - Sharon Norman (Casey Jackson) and Roger Bergmann

2008 - Chuck Browning, Bobbie St. Jeor, and Ron Jesser

2009 - Candy Pratt, John Beck, and Charley Lanier

2010 - Bryn Gerdes and David Hill

2011 – Bob Pimentel and Erin Eaton

2012 – tba

If you do not know the contributions of these individuals to Gay Rodeo, you need to go to the Web site and do some reading. It is an important part of our history and will help you to understand where we have come from and where you will be taking this organization in the future.

## Delegates – <u>Look Around You!</u> DO NOT ASSUME THAT EVERY DESERVING INDIVIDUAL HAS ALREADY BEEN NOMINATED!

There are still numerous individuals who the committee would like to see inducted into the Hall of Fame but we want those nominations to come from you, the members of the associations!

And though it was already stated here, don't just look around you but go back home and talk to others in your associations to find those individuals you feel are deserving of nomination. Go to the rodeo archives on the IGRA Web site and look through the old rodeo programs, magazines, and list of previous finals champions. You will see many names come up time after time as contestants, association officers, royalty, volunteers, and rodeo arena staff. Many of them will be found listed in the rodeo programs for several different associations. Don't forget that some individuals deserving of nomination may not be involved any longer because of health issues or relocating to other areas and unfortunately, some are now deceased.

The most difficult job for this committee is getting you to submit nominations! The nomination form will be located within the Hall of Fame area of the IGRA Web site. If you need help with filling out the form, don't hesitate to contact me at <a href="mailto:canyontryl@aol.com">canyontryl@aol.com</a>. Be sure to list IGRA Hall of Fame Nomination in the subject line or I may hit DELETE!

## PLEASE! When you go home do not forget this important task!

Respectfully submitted, Roger Bergmann, Chairman Hall of Fame Committee